Award-winning Science: DZD Experts To Be Honored at the Diabetes Congress

Several researchers from the German Center for Diabetes Research (DZD) have been selected to receive awards or grants of the German Diabetes Society (DDG) at its congress in Berlin (May 9-12). The recipient of the highest award of the DDG, the Paul Langerhans Medal, is Prof. Dr. Jens Brüning of the Max Planck Institute for Metabolic Research, an associated partner of the DZD, in recognition of his groundbreaking and innovative research on the pathogenesis of diabetes mellitus.
Deutsche Diabetes Gesellschaft DDG

Source: Deutsche Diabetes Gesellschaft DDG

In addition, other scientists of the DZD have been selected to receive DDG research awards:

Dr. Julia Szendrödi of the German Diabetes Center has been named recipient of the Ferdinand Bertram Prize 2018 for her work on "Lipid-induced insulin resistance and the role of mitochondrial function in skeletal muscle and liver in diabetes mellitus type 2.

Prof. Dr. Annette Ziegler from Helmholtz Zentrum München is to receive the Werner Creutzfeldt Award 2018 for her groundbreaking research on autoimmune pathogenesis and new methods for the prevention of type 1 diabetes.

The Helmut Otto Medal will be awarded to Professor Reinhard Holl, MD from the University of Ulm.

The DDG also awards project grants to support scientific work in diabetology. Here too, research projects from the DZD were successful.

The Hellmut Mehnert Project Grant is to be awarded to Professor Andreas Birkenfeld, MD from Paul Langerhans Institute Dresden of Helmholtz Zentrum München at the Carl Gustav Carus University Hospital of TU Dresden.

Dr. Sabine Kahl of the German Diabetes Center has been named recipient  of the Menarini Project Grant 2018.

Dr. Mandy Stadion of the German Institute of Human Nutrition Potsdam-Rehbrücke (DIfE) has been selected winner of the 2018 Development Grant of the German Diabetes Society (DDG).